December Updates: 2017 Shaping Up to be the Year of Centennial Celebrations

I admit, I’ve not posted for the entire month of November! But I have a few things up my sleeve for December. I wanted to try something new and post an update here that may be of interest to my readers and/or other old Hollywood fans of what is happening this month.

First off, I will begin my saying that December is the birthday month of Douglas Fairbanks, Jr. He would be 107 years old! His birthday is on December 9th (which is also the 100th birthday of Kirk Douglas!) so I expect to have a post ready for that day. TCM will be showing four Douglas Fairbanks, Jr., films this month – Gunga Din (1939), Having a Wonderful Time (1938), Joy of Living (1938), and The Young in Heart (1938). I highly recommend checking out one of these if you are new to Fairbanks! Here is the schedule:

djfscheduledec2016

I have also recently been made aware of the Buster Keaton 100 event that is taking place throughout 2017. The year-long event was created by the International Buster Keaton Society, Inc. and celebrates the centennial of Keaton’s film career. My silent film watching goes all the way back to elementary school when my mom and I would stay up late watching the Silent Sunday features on TCM. But it wasn’t until I discovered Buster Keaton that I became completely obsessed with the silent era. It is now the era I study the most in my budding film historian career and I feel that I owe a lot to Keaton for that. Buster Keaton 100 is asking fans around the world to celebrate in a number of creative ways.

Read all about it here: http://www.keaton100.com/

bk100

On the website, you have the option to sign up as a presenter, volunteer, or audience member, or all three! I have decided to do everything in my power to host a film screening in my city where silent films are rarely ever screened. I also plan on volunteering through the use of social media and any other way that I can. If anyone has ever hosted a screening in their community, I welcome any type of advice!

The third major thing that I have been working on is my first exhibit commemorating the centennial of World War I at my local downtown library. I was brought onto the team for my knowledge on popular culture of the era and am putting together four exhibit panels that celebrate the films, music, literature, and sports of 1917-1919. I am also putting together a World War I film series in connection with the exhibit.

cropped-image-804x450

The films I plan to screen are as follows – Shoulder Arms, The Big Parade, Wings, All Quiet on the Western Front, Sergeant York, and Paths of Glory.

I am aware that this is a relatively small list of the many World War I films that exist but I felt that these are great films that represent different viewpoints and genres. (I can’t believe I didn’t even include Fairbanks, Jr.’s film Dawn Patrol!) That being said, I am open to any suggestions of other World War I films that would be worth considering for the series.

If you would like to get involved in your own community or wish to donate to the commemoration, visit this website: http://www.worldwar1centennial.org/

I also finally got a Twitter so if you are interested in following a fellow film fan where I post more often than here and on more than just Douglas Fairbanks, Jr., please come join me: https://twitter.com/elizabethdfjnr

 

Leave a Reply

