The Liebster Award!

liebsteraward

First of all, I would like to give many thanks to Christina Wehner for nominating me for the Liebster Award. When I first created this blog, I had no idea if it would get any readers at all and I’m thankful for all the people that do take the time to read my posts!

The Rules:

  1. Answer 11 questions asked by the blog that nominated you.
  2. Nominate other blogs and ask them 11 questions.

 

My answers to the 11 questions asked by Christina Wehner:

1 .Favorite movie adaptation of a book

– Does a play count? I’m hoping so because my favorite movie adaptation is A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams even though it is technically a play not a book. I think that Marlon Brando and Vivien Leigh played the lead roles flawlessly and match the written characters perfectly. It is impossible for me to imagine those characters being anyone but Brando and Leigh!

If that one doesn’t count, I absolutely love the film O Brother, Where Art Thou? which adapted Odyssey into a Great Depression era comedy about criminals.

2. Least favorite movie adaptation of a book

– I’m going to have to go with the 1974 version of The Great Gatsby. I absolutely adore Robert Redford and Mia Farrow but I’ve always felt that this movie was lacking something. Fitzgerald is one of my favorite writers and I think his ability to convey emotions, create imagery, and capture the feeling of an entire era makes him one of a kind. This version of The Great Gatsby just falls flat and doesn’t make me feel anything in the way that the book does.

3. Book you wish Alfred Hitchcock could adapt into a movie

– As a Stephen King reader, I think it would have been pretty cool to see what Hitchcock would’ve done with a story like Misery. Since both Hitchcock and King do psychological thrillers really well, I think combining them could’ve been pretty awesome.

4. Book you would love to see turned into a musical

– So this would make for a pretty dark musical and I’m pretty sure it is actually in the works already but I would like to see The Heroin Diaries by Nikki Sixx turned into a musical or stage production of some sort. It’s based on his experiences as an addict and his road to recovery. His band SIXX:A.M. created a soundtrack to the book and I think it could be a powerful musical. The book and album are dark but full of hopeful messages that can be applied to more than just addiction.

5. Movie you would most like to see remade

– So, I am usually pretty tough on remakes of movies from the golden age so this one took some thought. I decided that it would be pretty relevant and interesting to see a remake of 1984. The film made in 1984 is good but I think it would be fascinating to see how that story would be interpreted today.

6. Song that most often gets stuck in your head

– So many songs get stuck in my head because I absolutely love music but as of lately, I keep getting “Good Morning” from Singin’ in the Rain stuck in my head. I’m a tap dancer and teacher and recently learned the original routine to “Good Morning” so it is consistently stuck in my head!

7. Favorite swashbuckling hero

– This one may be obvious but my favorite swashbuckling hero is Douglas Fairbanks, Sr. I love Junior in his swashbuckling roles but think of his father as more of the swashbuckling hero.

8. Which legendary hero do you prefer: Zorro or Robin Hood?

– While I love both, I have to choose Robin Hood. I just love the whole idea of doing the right thing even though it may be “wrong.” Plus, Douglas Fairbanks’ Robin Hood is one of my favorite silent movies!

9. Name at least three or four actors from the classic movie era who you would cast in a Golden Age of Hollywood movie version of The Lord of the Rings

– I’m embarrassed to say that I have only watched The Lord of the Rings once so this one is a little difficult for me.

10. Preferred movie watching weather ambiance: sunny, cloudy, rainy, blizzard, hurricane, overcast, daylight, midnight?

– I’ll pretty much watch a movie in any type of weather condition but I do most of my movie watching super late at night. I’m a night owl and enjoy being able to cozy up and watch a movie completely undisturbed late at night.

11. And because it’s such an intriguing question: the Enterprise meets an Imperial Star Destroyer in a battle: who wins?

– This is another tricky one for me so I think I will go with the Enterprise, just cause.

 

My nominations:

11 questions for my nominees:

  1. What is your favorite quote from a movie?
  2. Who do you believe is the most underrated actor/actress in cinema history?
  3. Is there an actor/actress that you think is overrated? (Can be past or present)
  4. Name a movie you never get tired of watching no matter how many times you’ve seen it.
  5. What is your favorite genre (comedy, romance, drama, etc.) of film and why?
  6. Past or present, what is your favorite TV show?
  7. If you were to star in a movie, who would you want to play your romantic interest?
  8. Since I liked this question: Favorite movie adaptation of a book?
  9. What was the last movie you watched?
  10. Name a film that left a strong impression on you.
  11. And lastly, what film and/or actor made you fall in love with classic film?

My nominations:

Finding Franchot

Once Upon A Screen…

Little Bits of Classics

Girls Do Film

 

Thank you again for the nomination!

df-jr-1941-gif

(Source: x)

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award!

  1. Fascinating answers! It was a pleasure to read all your thoughts. A play should definitely count! You know, I’ve never seen a Streetcar Named Desire. It seems like a massive oversight on my part. Hitchcock and Stephen King do sound completely awesome!

    I was wondering – from what film is your final gif with Douglas Fairbanks Jr. taken from?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Streetcar is definitely one of my all time favorite movies. The performances are brilliant! I highly recommend it.

      The gif is from “The Corsican Brothers” where he plays two roles as twin brothers. It’s a good movie.

      Thanks again for the nomination! I had a lot of fun with the questions.

      Like

  2. classicemily says:

    Great answers and congratulations on the nomination! Well deserved! Thank you for so kindly nominating my Finding Franchot blog. You’ve posed some great questions for me and I’m working on my answers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

